February 1st, 2011

MYANMAR/BURMA — The first meaningless action for Myanmar’s faux Parliament will be to select the president of Myanmar.

From Mizzima:

Five parliamentary representatives including current Prime Minister Thein Sein and retired Lieutenant General Thiha Thura Tin Aung Myint Oo have been nominated for the two positions of vice president in Burma’s new government.

Current PM Thein Sein in leadership race. Photo : Mizzima
The nomination process was carried out Tuesday in the Union Parliament, the joint sitting of the National Parliament and People’s Parliament.

The People’s Parliament nominated Thein Sein , the chief of the Union Solidarity and Development Party, and Saw Thein Aung from the Phalon-Sawaw Democratic Party.

The representatives from the military nominated Thiha Thura Tin Aung Myint Oo, the Secretary 1 of the State Peace and Development Council.

The National Parliament nominated USDP’s lawmaker Sai Mawk Kham, the chairman of the Shan State Literature and Culture Committee, and Dr. Aye Maung from Rakhine National Development Party.

The president and the two vice presidents will be elected on Thursday.

What, they couldn’t find enough deck chairs?

Do what you can to make this a good morning, Myanmar.

Leave a Reply

To prove you're a person (not a spam script), type the security word shown in the picture. Click on the picture to hear an audio file of the word.
Anti-spam image